top of page
Search
almcclure

Newsletter #5 09/29 - 10/06

Dear Families,


Next week our Unit Theme is the FARM! 🚜 We will have fun learning about Farms and doing activities bases around this them. Please see the Newsletter for our schedule of activities next week. As of right now, there are no optional materials needed next


week. I will be at the 10/5 Pumpkin Patch Field Trip in Springfield. I will place a pre-recorded lesson on your student’s planner for this day. I will also be out of office on Friday 10/06, so you will be attending Live Lesson with Mrs. Lindo, our other Kindergarten teacher. This link will also be on your planner for you. 🙂 Friday is my daughter’s first birthday, so we are spending the day getting ready for her party!


I will be starting small groups next week! I will be using the data collected from KOF to create small groups in reading and math based on what your student currently knows. These groups are just an optional practice time for us to work together on specific skills your student might still be learning. Please keep in mind that since these groups are skill based, they are very fluid. Therefore, your student could move in and out of different groups based on their performance and what skills they need to be working on. 🙂 I will be sending out group details to everyone on Monday, and will place group links on your student’s planner.


We will for sure be doing our UFLI spelling tests this week! I apologize for dropping the ball and not getting it posted in time to complete this week. Just a reminder that these are optional but are a great way to see if your student is picking up on the skills that we are practicing in our UFLI phonics lessons. I will post a Google form on your student’s planner for our weekly spelling test, and you will watch the video with them where I give the test, and then upload a picture of your child’s answers into the form. They can write this on any paper that works best for you. My hope is that I am able to send out a spelling response paper in a sheet protector so you can just reuse that each week. These tests are different from what you might be used to because they are skill focused. This means that I will NOT be sending home words for them to practice and memorize. The words on the tests will focus only on letters and sounds we have practiced together. We do it this way to really get a true idea as to if the kiddos are picking up the weekly skills we are practicing. I will use these spelling tests as an additional way to help me determine the small group activities I will start to offer weekly, beginning in October. These UFLI Spelling tests should only take about 5-10 minutes of your time on day a week. So keep a lookout for these to start appearing on your planner this week! 🙂


Our St. Louis and Springfield Pumpkin Patch Field trips are this week! The deadline for payment for these two locations is Monday, 10/2 at 4:00PM! So please make sure that if you would like to attend you are getting that sign up done ASAP! It should be a fun day with our MOCA families!


If you have any other questions please feel free to reach out to me at any time! I hope you all have a fabulous week!


Links:




 

Feel free to send me pictures to share with our families! These could be of your student doing school things or personal celebrations you want to share! Just email or text me your pictures!


Our Apple Directed Drawings!










21 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page